Beginner's Tutorial

System Encryption

 Supported Systems

 Hidden Operating System

 Rescue Disk

Plausible Deniability

 Hidden Volume

  Protection of Hidden Vol.

  Security Requirements

 Hidden Operating System



Hardware Acceleration

Encryption Algorithms





Hash Algorithms




Technical Details


 Encryption Scheme

 Modes of Operation

 Header Key Derivation

 Random Number Gen.


 Volume Format Spec.

 Standards Compliance

 Source Code

TrueCrypt Volume

 Creating New Volumes

 Favorite Volumes

 System Favorite Volumes

Main Program Window

 Program Menu

 Mounting Volumes

Supported Systems

Portable Mode


Tokens & Smart Cards

Language Packs

Hot Keys

Security Model

Security Requirements

 Data Leaks

  Paging File

  Hibernation File

  Memory Dump Files

 Unencrypted Data in RAM

 Physical Security


 Multi-User Environment

 Authenticity and Integrity

 New Passwords & Keyfiles

 Password/Keyfile Change

 Trim Operation


 Reallocated Sectors


 Journaling File Systems

 Volume Clones

 Additional Requirements

Command Line Usage

Backing Up Securely


 Use Without Admin Rights

 Sharing over Network

 Background Task

 Removable Medium Vol.

 TrueCrypt System Files

 Removing Encryption

 Uninstalling TrueCrypt

 Digital Signatures



Issues and Limitations


Future Development


Version History



Acknowledgements Search


Please consider making a donation.

   Donate Now >> Donate   


We would like to thank the following people:

Paul Le Roux for making his E4M source code available. TrueCrypt 1.0 was derived from E4M and some parts of the E4M source code are still incorporated in the latest version of the TrueCrypt source code.

Dr. Brian Gladman, who wrote the excellent AES, Twofish, and SHA-512 routines.

Peter Gutmann for his paper on random numbers, and for creating his cryptlib, which was the source of parts of the random number generator source code.

Wei Dai, who wrote the Serpent and RIPEMD-160 routines.

Mark Adler et al., who wrote the Inflate routine.

The designers of the encryption algorithms, hash algorithms, and the mode of operation:
Horst Feistel, Don Coppersmith, Walt Tuchmann, Lars Knudsen, Ross Anderson, Eli Biham, Bruce Schneier, David Wagner, John Kelsey, Niels Ferguson, Doug Whiting, Chris Hall, Joan Daemen, Vincent Rijmen, Carlisle Adams, Stafford Tavares
, Phillip Rogaway, Hans Dobbertin, Antoon Bosselaers, Bart Preneel, Paulo S. L. M. Barreto.

All the others who have made this project possible, all who have morally supported us, and all who sent us bug reports or suggestions for improvements.

Thank you very much.

Legal Notices

 Ads by Google